Newborn Crochet Hat Pattern and Video and Roundup

This weekend is the Project for Awesome.  It’s a giant charity fund drive involving YouTube videos and Indigogo perks.  It’s an insane 48 hours.

This is the first year I decided to make a video and the “charity” I decided to support was crocheting hats and donating them.  It’s finals week at KU and I have a lot of down time (that I should probably should be spending studying, but whatever), so I’ve been crocheting a lot.

I have some baby weight/light yarn leftover from some adult sized hats I made over the summer, so I was looking for patterns that used that instead of worsted weight yarn.  However, there weren’t many available, so I whipped up a pretty simple design.  Hats are basically a base circle with sides, like a cylinder.

Video tutorial:

Pattern:

4mm crochet hook, baby(light) yarn
Chain 4
1. 6 dc in second chain from hook
2. chain 3, 3 dc in next stitch, [4 dc in each stitch] until end of row
3. chain 3, 2 dc in next stitch, [2 dc in each stitch] until end of row
4-10ish. chain 3, 1 dc in each stitch until end of row.
Finished hat should be around 11-12 inches in circumference and 4.5-5.5 inches in height

This pattern can be easily adapted because you just have to make the base circle the diameter of your head and the height as far as you want it to fall.

Hat Pattern roundup:

Of course, there are an infinite number of patterns (easily accessible through Pinterest and Google searches) but here’s a starting point of some patterns I think are cute:

Super Simple Newborn Beanie, Free Crochet Pattern; Charity Hat, Hats for Orphans (Free Crochet Pattern!)My Handsome Prince Newborn Baby Hatbaby hat pattern

P4A video:

 Consider watching more Project for Awesome videos or even donate to the fundraiser.  If you’re a nerd /Nerdfighter I’m sure you’ll find a perk that looks awesome

DFTBA,

Nicole Marie

4 thoughts on “Newborn Crochet Hat Pattern and Video and Roundup

  1. Amena says:

    I made 47 of these beanies with extra yarn I had at home. I donated them to the NICU in memory of my baby girl.
    Thank you for the tutorial.

Leave a Reply

